Braintree 12 v Chingford 15


KO 2.15pm

Chingford arrived at Braintree with only 4 of the team that won the early season fixture at home due to their ongoing injury frustrations. The game could not have started any worse as they didn’t attack their own kick off leaving Braintree to run the ball to within 3 yards of their line. They managed to win the ruck but then Kurt Forward had his kick charged down and Braintree scored in the corner. An excellent conversion followed seeing Chingford 7 – 0 down within a minute. Chingford then weathered a near 20 minute spell of pressure by Braintree and on breaking out, won a kickable penalty. This was missed by Dan Boughtwood but he atoned for his error two minutes later as further pressure was finished off by the three-quarters and Kurt Forward scored the, duly converted, try. Braintree went back on the attack for the rest of the half and were themselves rewarded just before half time with a push over try. It seemed to have taken this long for Braintree to realise that Chingford did not have a second row on the pitch and their scrum was definitely creaking. This made the score 12 – 7 to Braintree at half time.

The second half started just as disastrously for Chingford with first Chris Moore yellow carded and then another penalty miss. They rode the imbalance of numbers well however and after 15 minutes Chris Moore’s return was heralded with Braintree’s fly half’s turn in the bin. Chingford then won a penalty in front of the posts which Boughtwood slotted. Chingford looked to have thrown it all away again as Ollie Hoad was yellow carded but the ever more weakened scrum was put under extreme pressure by Braintree but they didn’t buckle and indeed even won one against the head in their own 22. After Hoad’s return another bright three-quarter movement was rounded off with a Brendan Hart unconverted try. The last five minutes and 2 more of injury time were played in the Chingford 22 with 5 meter line outs and scrums the focus of Braintree’s attack but try as they might they couldn’t break the steely resolve of the Chingford team who for the second week running won a close fought battle.        

1.       Steve Piper

2.       Ikenna Onwuka            

3.       Wesley Mbewe

4.       Lawrence Macredes

5.       Chris Small

6.       Chris Moore

7.       Dave Brown (Capt)

8.       Ollie Hoad

9.       JP Sharpe

10.    Dan Boughtwood

11.    James Moy

12.    Kalem Abbott

13.    Brandon Hart

14.    Andre Cabrera

15.    Kurt Forward


1.       Billy Spinks    

2.       Tom Regan

Abdel Giles